API 571


API RP 571 Damage Mechanisms Affecting Fixed Equipment in the Refining Industry.



This qualification adds reliability and confidence to the Corrosion and Metallurgy Professionals working in the Oil and Gas Refineries or Petrochemical Plants, and provides assurance to asset owners that Engineers are competence to carry out the work.


To improve safety, reliability, and minimize liability of fixed equipment by learning common damage mechanisms in the refining and petrochemical industry as covered in API 571 are the primary objectives. The roles of the engineer and inspector in identifying affected materials and equipment, critical factors, appearance of damage, prevention and mitigation, inspection and monitoring will be covered to introduce the concepts of service-induced deterioration and failure modes. This course is intended for anyone interested in gaining a fundamental understanding of damage mechanisms in metals.


Who Should Attend

Engineers, inspectors, designers, and experienced maintenance personnel who are involved in designing, operating, maintaining, repairing, inspecting and analyzing pressure vessels, piping, tanks and pipelines for safe operations in the Oil refining, petrochemical and other related industries. It will assist with API 579 and API 580 evaluations and API 571 ICP exam candidates.

API RP 571, Damage Mechanisms Affecting Fixed Equipment in the Refining Industry, is a standard released by the American Petroleum Institute (API). The first edition was published in December, 2003 and an updated second edition was released in April, 2011. The new standard provides an in-depth look at over 60 different damage mechanisms that can occur to process equipment in refineries. It includes a general description of the damage mechanism, susceptible materials of construction, critical factors, inspection method selection guidelines, and control factors. The standard is intended to supplement standards RP 580, RP 581, and RP 579 and is 257 pages long.

API RP 571 contains sections for different types of damage mechanisms. Each mechanism is given a write up that consists of a description of the mechanism, a list of materials that are susceptible to that mechanism, guidelines for inspection for that mechanism, and measures that can be taken to prevent that particular mechanism.

The types of damage mechanisms that are covered by API RP 571 include mechanisms such as:

  • Wet H2S cracking,
  • Reheat cracking,
  • Sulfuric acid corrosion,
  • Polythionic acid stress corrosion cracking,
  • Dissimilar metal weld (DMW) cracking,
  • CO2 corrosion,
  • Corrosion under insulation (CUI),
  • Caustic corrosion,
  • Mechanical fatigue,
  • Chloride stress corrosion cracking,
  • Carburization,
  • Hydrogen embrittlement,
  • Soil corrosion,
  • Sulfide stress corrosion cracking,
  • Graphitic corrosion,
  • Phosphoric acid corrosion,
  • Brittle fracture

Environment-Assisted Cracking

  • Polythionic Acid Stress Corrosion Cracking (PASCC)
  • Amine Stress Corrosion Cracking
  • Wet H2S Damage (Blistering/HIC/SOHIC/SCC)
  • Hydrogen Stress Cracking—HF
  • Carbonate Stress Corrosion Cracking

Other Mechanisms

High Temperature Hydrogen Attack (HTHA) and Titanium Hydriding

The American Petroleum Institute offers API RP 571 certification training and exams for inspectors and chemical and corrosion engineers. Certification under API RP 571 is valid for a three year term. While it was once mandatory for applicants to have prior certification for API 510, 570, or 653 before one could be certified for API RP 571, 577 or 580; as of 2013 this is no longer the case, and this standard is now completely individual and stand-alone.